Resorts closing

New snow Mt. Rose

Mt. Rose with new snow
Photo courtesy of Mt. Rose PR

The ski scene in the Lake Tahoe area is going through the annual closing dance. Several resorts shut down as of April 16 or 17. Others will close the weekend of April 22, with April 24 thrown in. The rest will close in May. Squaw Valley will continue, conditions permitting, with a limited schedule through June, then open over July 4. Ski all you can–it’s a long wait till next season. Mammoth will stay open till July 4. Keep in mind that all these dates that extend past April are “conditions permitting”.

These resorts are closed:

Hope Valley Outdoors:  www.hopevalleyoutdoors.com

Kirkwood:  www.kirkwood.com

Tahoe Donner Ski and Tahoe Donner Cross Country: www.skitahoedonner.com

Royal Gorge Cross Country: www.royalgorge.com

Homewood: www.skihomewood.com

Tahoe Cross Country and Tahoe City Winter Sports park: www.wintersportspark.com

Granlibakken (as of April 17): www.granlibakken.com

Donner Ski Ranch: Closed mid-week, open weekends until there’s not enough snow to ski on: www.donnerskiranch.com

Bear Valley Cross Country: www.bearvalleyxc.com

Around Mammoth:

June Mountain: www.junemountain.com

Dodge Ridge: www.dodgeridge.com

These resorts will close around April 23-24:

Sierra-at-Tahoe: www.sierraattahoe.com

Diamond Peakwww.diamondpeak.com

Mt. Rose: Daily to April 23, full operations, after that it’s Thursday thru Sunday until May 29: www.skirose.com

Northstar: www.northstarcalifornia.com

Soda Springs: Thursday thru Sunday,  closing April 23: www.skisodasprings.com

Sugar Bowl: www.sugarbowl.com

Bear Valley: www.bearvalley.com

Staying open through April 30: 

Alpine Meadows: Daily till April 30, then weekends to May 4: www.skialpine.com

Staying open through June and opening on July 4:

Squaw Valley: www.squaw.com

Open through July 4:

Mammoth Mountain: www.mammothmountain.com


Posted in Lake Tahoe, Outdoor Recreation, outside treks, ski resorts, skiing, snow